About Abu Garcia

David Dudley Wins Third FLW Tour Angler Of The Year Title

Dudley Claims AOY Title and Win on Lake Champlain

Abu Garcia pro David Dudley captured his third FLW Angler of the Year this past weekend on Lake Champlain. The Lynchburg, Va., native won his second 2012 FLW tournament title, the first on Beaver Lake earlier this year.

Along with the victory, Dudley claimed a tournament prize of $100,000 plus a $25,000 in Ranger Cup bonus money. Dudley is the second FLW angler to earn three AOY titles and the first to win back-to-back AOY titles.

Dudley's first AOY title came in 2008. With his second title, Dudley joins fellow Abu Garcia pros Clark Wendlandt (2009, 2000, 1997) and Jay Yelas (2007, 2002) as the only FLW anglers to win multiple Walmart FLW Tour Angler of the Year titles. Dudley also received $100,000 for the title.

"I really just tried to focus throughout the week on the Champlain event," Dudley said. "I tried to keep AOY on the backburner and simply focus on each day of the event. I know there are a ton of guys breathing down my neck, and if I lose focus one of them will jump to the lead. I have to go out there and out work the other guys. I feel like I accomplished that today."

Dudley has remained a dominant figure on the FLW Tour. This year Dudley has notched four top-15 finishes, two of which Dudley won. He has amassed seven tournament wins and 36 top-10 finishes in FLW Outdoors competition and won over $3 million during his 17-year career.

2012 FLW Tour Tournament Results
24th Place – Lake Hartwell
59th Place – Table Rock Lake
1st Place – Beaver Lake
3rd Place – Potomac River
14th place – Kentucky Lake
1st place – Lake Champlain